Room 514

Classes, curriculum, education…

Welcome to Ruby on Rails March 30, 2008

Filed under: Ruby — mryantho @ 8:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Welcome to our programming unit. As I have mentioned in class we will be learning how to use the Rails Framework to develop a web application that uses Ruby code. I am using the book “RailsSpace” byHartl and Prochazka as a guide. It is a great book that teaches RubyOnRails (RoR) through the development of a social networking site they call RailsSpace. The book is really well written for experienced and novice programmers alike. Working incrementally on a large project is a great way to learn, and in my experience, far better that a collection of non-related examples to work with. There should be a guide like this for every language.

Since I will be using examples from the book, I will not be posting all the tutorials publicly. But there is not much more in my tutorials that is not in the book. So if you are reading this and want to follow along, just buy the book. It will have many more examples and explanations than I give in my video tutorials anyways.  For my class, you will have private access to the videos.

 

Leave a comment